Being On Fire For God

I’ve always been a dreamer. As a Post-Graduate, my biggest dream was to be a news anchor. When I stepped out of St Joseph’s College in 2012, I chased my dreams of changing the world by becoming a journalist. I grabbed all the opportunities that came my way and worked for some of the best employers in the country but God had a vision for my life, and I realized that He still called me to change the world in His own way.

12695027_1046412612068783_6396387363719619075_o
A photograph from one of my recent mission to Orissa. This is Maria Pahad, a literal translation would be ‘Mother Mary on the hill’

Today, I complete one year as a full-time pastoral worker with Couples For Christ India. My life as a missionary has been so amazing, that I’ve not realized how time has gone by. It just feels like everything happened just over a cup of coffee. One year? Maybe the clock has cheated me by running too quickly!

In this great pursuit of becoming His true disciple, I’ve been loaded with memories that will never fade. I had the opportunity to travel to some of the best places where CFCI is present and interact with some of the most awesome people and learn valuable lessons for life.

11214034_941626529214059_3255320447611660341_n
Full time missionaries from Couples For Christ India – Levin, Kelvin, Amulya and I on a mission in Assam

My first mission to CFCI Assam taught me the joy of giving others even in my dearth, while CFCI Gujarat taught me to open doors for strangers and feed them. When elders in CFCI Jharkand washed our stinking feet (after all the travel) before welcoming us into their house, taught me humility, and to one destination that I travelled the most, CFCI Goa, taught me to love and be love to others, and last but not least, CFCI Bangalore, from where I come from, constantly teach me to be on fire for God.

Undoubtedly, the last twelve months have been the best in my life. Was it easy to give up my career and work as a missionary? No, it wasn’t. It was obviously difficult. I have my own struggles in life, which requires me to hold on to a good paying job, but I gave it all up for the love of God and Him alone. St Paul, the great apostle, in his first letter tells young Timothy that when one is single, they could devote more time for the work of God as they wouldn’t get distracted by any responsibility. While my entire life belongs to God, I wanted to serve Him with my everything, before I get loaded with responsibilities.

The scenes of how Jesus went through the most horrific and torturous death in the world would repeatedly play in my mind. How can Jesus be so insanely in love with us? If He, the king of kings, could be so foolish by giving up His life for people who are made out of dirt, giving up a thriving career for Him was not a huge thing for me. It honestly didn’t look foolish as I knew it would please God. Well, the world had a million things to say but only God remained my priority and I will continue to serve Him full-time until He allows me.

All of us in this blessed community are called to serve God is some way. Have you ever asked yourself how is God calling you to serve? I agree, not everyone are called to serve as full-time missionaries, but you can still choose to become a ‘Missionary’ in the spare time God has provided you.

20150715_152249
There are scores of youth who do not know Jesus and are waiting for us to go and proclaim His Word

I repeat the words of St Paul, ‘The youth can do magnificent things for the master’s cause’. While still there are heaps of work pending and the community is looking for youngsters to go on missions, how many of us are eager to serve God? Our household servants, formators and chapter servants are looking for various mission volunteers. Speak to them and take up something that interests you and serve God through that. If you and I are part of this community, enjoying our walk with God and fellowship with each other, it is only because a brother/sister went out of his/her way to preach the good news to us. They had a heart for God and eagerness to win souls for Him. Do we have the same fire in our hearts?

No one can ever force their opinions on us, at the same time, let us be mindful that we owe our lives to God. After all, what is life, if it isn’t used for His glory? St. Catherine of Sienna puts it beautifully, “If you are what you should be, you will set the whole world ablaze!”

Leave a Reply

